2.21 Bad Date

Brianna and I met up soon after I got back. I’ve been kind of avoiding talking to her, though I can’t really explain why. It felt different when we met up. After getting some coffee, we walked around the ruins.

It felt kind of weird being out together. I don’t think I was a very good boyfriend tonight. But everything we tried to talk about seemed kid of pointless. The dance was in a week, and then we’d be graduating, and I think we were both not talking the kind of major life choice I’d made. Brianna always wanted to go live in San Myshuno, and I don’t.

She was distracted too. Maybe that was my fault? I went on about Granite Falls and hanging out with Aunt Zoe and Summer, and she got kind of annoyed.

“It seems fun,” she said half-heartedly. “But unless there’s a spa, what’s the point?”

“Mom’s really into it,” I said.

“I thought you were done doing all the stuff your mom wanted you to do.”

“I am.” I was. I still think mom made some rough decisions that we got to suffer through, but I also understand why. I also do want some of the things she wanted: a big family, a house I helped build, to be part of a legacy. “It was just nice, you know? No distractions. Plenty of time to think.”

“You seem plenty distracted,” she muttered.

“What’s that mean?” I asked, defenses up.

“You’re talking about this Summer girl a lot is all.” She gave a flippant wave. “I don’t even know her.”

“It’s probably because she lives in Oasis Springs.”

“Ugh, that place.” She rolled her eyes. “Why even bother with trailer park trash?”

“You know,” I snapped, “Summer’s really cool and super smart and you’re just going to hate on her because you don’t like where she’s from.”

Brianna’s eyes widened. “Okay, I’m sorry. I guess not everything is lame in Oasis Springs. So are we going to hang out with her or what?”

I sucked in a breath. I didn’t actually plan for the two of them ever meeting. “Sure. Whenever.”

“Sorry,” she muttered again.

I sighed. “I’m sorry. I think I might’ve ruined this date.”

She smiled at that. “Not completely.”

We stayed a while longer, but I was still tired from the trip or something. We said our goodbyes and I headed home. I didn’t meant to blow up at her like that, and for some reason I didn’t want her to meet Summer at all. Maybe I can avoid it as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

